Black Ballad

Black Ballad is a UK based lifestyle platform that seeks to tell the human experience through eyes of black British women.

We elevate the voices of black British women through content, community and commerce.

Join our community of black women for less than £1 a week

Featured content

Jendella Benson

What 10 Years of Black Ballad Looks Like In 10 Articles

Saturday 15 June 2024 6:00 PM

Jaya Alvarez-Murray

I Was Stuck In A Job I Hated For 10 Years – Then I Found Ikigai

Thursday 13 June 2024 8:00 AM

Jamila Pereira

The Struggle To Find Community As A Queer Black Mother

Wednesday 12 June 2024 8:00 AM

latest on black ballad

What's going on the world

Michaela Makusha

How Black Women Really Feel About July’s General Election

Thursday 30 May 2024 8:00 AM

Nomqhele Beauty Dhlamini

Student Protests: We've Been Here Before & Saw The End Of Apartheid

Tuesday 21 May 2024 8:00 AM

Sabrina-Maria Anderson

Who Should We Vote For? We Need Options Besides Labour Or The Tories

Tuesday 25 April 2023 8:00 AM

Adama Juldeh Munu

Why These Black British Jews March For Palestine

Tuesday 7 May 2024 12:45 PM

The Black Ballad Weekender 24

Black Ballad

The Black Ballad Weekender 24

Friday 23 August 2024 11:00 AM

black authors & the publishing industry

Chloe Lovell

Black Women Get Honest About Their Experiences of Self-Publishing

Wednesday 15 November 2023 8:00 AM

Esther Okusaga

Selina Brown Is Filling A Gap In Black Britain's Literary Culture

Friday 13 October 2023 8:00 AM

Jendella Benson

Dorothy Koomson on What It Takes To Be a Bestselling Author

Friday 30 June 2023 8:00 AM

The Face Of The Modern British Workforce

How Black Women Love & Are Loved

Lateefah Jean-Baptiste

How Hyper-Independence Can Impact Black Women's Relationships

Thursday 25 April 2024 8:00 AM

Jamila Pereira

Black Women Are Finding Real Love In Unexpected Places

Tuesday 19 March 2024 8:00 AM

Jamila Pereira

What Happens When Black Women Earn More Than Their Male Partners?

Tuesday 20 February 2024 8:00 AM

Hena Bryan

I Don’t Want Children. Does That Make Me Undateable?

Thursday 15 February 2024 8:00 AM

BB Weekender 1st Speaker Gif

looking to escape the uk?

Lynda Ndubuaku

How Migration Affects Those Left Behind

Wednesday 13 December 2023 8:00 AM

Letitia Jarrett

Finding My Place as a Black British Woman in South Italy

Tuesday 24 October 2023 8:00 AM

Lọlá Ákínmádé Åkerström

Messy Black Characters & The White Readers Who Won’t Let Them Live

Thursday 19 October 2023 8:00 AM

Marion Nekesa

As A Black Woman, I Am Not Ready To Travel Alone

Thursday 28 September 2023 8:00 AM

Rosalia Masiya

What It’s Like Being Black In Poland

Tuesday 19 September 2023 8:00 AM

Chloe Lovell

Can Black British Women Really Thrive in the Middle East?

Thursday 20 July 2023 8:00 AM

Chloe Lovell

These Black Women Left London Behind & Thrived

Tuesday 9 May 2023 8:00 AM

Claire Fowler

A Black Woman's Guide To Becoming A Digital Nomad

Tuesday 11 April 2023 8:00 AM

our bodies, our health, our rights

Lisa Tadiwa

I Was Ghosted By My… Gynaecologist?!

Tuesday 26 March 2024 8:00 AM

Nomqhele Beauty Dhlamini

Wendy Williams Has The Right To Be Ill Without Judgement & Moralising

Wednesday 28 February 2024 1:00 PM

Juliet Nnaji

Black Women & The Reality Of Illegal Abortions

Thursday 9 November 2023 8:00 AM

Natalie Diana Busari

I’m A Black Woman With MS & There Aren’t Enough Of Us Speaking Out

Thursday 12 October 2023 8:00 AM

Tabby Kibugi

Why Black Women Are Leaving Academia

Thursday 8 February 2024 8:00 AM

Orlene Badu

Lessons Learned As A Black Headteacher In The UK

Wednesday 19 July 2023 8:00 AM

Sabrina-Maria Anderson

Black Mums & Their Teen Daughters On Their Experiences In UK Schools

Wednesday 15 February 2023 11:00 AM

BB The Jungle

caring for our communities

Tabby Kibugi

How Black Single Mums Are Benefiting From ‘Mommunes’

Friday 8 March 2024 8:00 AM

Busayo Twins

We Need To Leave Our Apathy For Young People In 2023

Friday 15 December 2023 8:00 AM

Jamila Pereira

What Is Post-Separation Abuse & How Do We Recognise It?

Tuesday 14 November 2023 8:00 AM

Jaz Morrison

The Mamahood Space Is Combatting Mum Loneliness In Birmingham

Thursday 5 October 2023 8:00 AM

Alisa Jordan

Black Women Need To Reclaim Our Hobbies From Side Hustle Culture

Tuesday 5 September 2023 8:00 AM

Sabrina-Maria Anderson

What Black Women Do When The NHS Fails Them

Thursday 20 April 2023 8:00 AM

Oluwaseun Famoofo

The Impact Of 'Vagabonds!' On The Queer Community In Nigeria

Thursday 30 March 2023 8:00 AM

Vuma Phiri

How Starting A Black Book Club Helped My Loneliness

Tuesday 21 February 2023 8:00 AM

Founder's Letters