Black Ballad

Black Ballad is a UK based lifestyle platform that seeks to tell the human experience through eyes of black British women.

We elevate the voices of black British women through content, community and commerce.

Join our community of black women for less than £1 a week

Featured content

Jasmine Lee-Zogbessou

Here’s Why I Resent The Phrase ‘Coming Out’

Thursday 23 June 2022 8:00 AM

Jasmine Lee-Zogbessou

Digital Creator Natalie Lee On Shedding Shame For Sexual Freedom

Friday 10 June 2022 8:00 AM

Amanda Marufu

Challenging Bias & Championing LGBTQ+ Rights In Zimbabwe

Thursday 9 June 2022 8:00 AM

Jasmine Lee-Zogbessou

Pride Is Joy: Celebrating Black Queerness In All Its Forms

Friday 3 June 2022 8:00 AM

black women & our communities

Nomqhele Beauty Dhlamini

Why Gossip Is Essential And Lifesaving For Black Women

Friday 13 May 2022 8:00 AM

Pride is Joy 2022 Banner

black women & activism

Seyi Falodun-Liburd

The Group Campaigning Against Toxic Products In Hair Relaxers

Wednesday 25 May 2022 8:00 AM

Jamila Pereira

Black Women, Abortion Politics & The Myth Of A "Black Genocide"

Tuesday 25 January 2022 8:00 AM

Black Women & Reality TV

Elisabeth Fapuro

#C4Highlife Is Giving Us Healthy Black Relationships Outside Of BHM

Tuesday 14 September 2021 4:00 PM

Isha Webber

Priscilla Anyabu On Being A Black Woman In British TV

Friday 13 August 2021 7:00 AM

Stephanie Daniels

Black Women And Manchester’s Electronic Scene

Wednesday 16 December 2020 7:30 AM

Dawnie Walton

Finding Myself (And My Black Foremothers) In Rock Music

Tuesday 30 March 2021 7:00 AM

Annique Simpson

Sabrina Washington On Mis-Teeq, The Industry & Her Musical Return

Wednesday 9 September 2020 7:00 AM

Lateefah Jean-Baptiste

The Black Women Who Defined Lovers Rock In The 1980s

Friday 27 November 2020 12:00 PM

Sashawne Smith

How My Skin Condition Impacted My Perception Of Beauty

Wednesday 13 April 2022 8:00 AM

Zuva

Diagnosing & Treating My Mysterious Skin Condition

Wednesday 1 December 2021 1:00 PM

Damilola Ogunrinde

The NHS Is In Crisis And GPs Are Bearing The Brunt

Monday 11 October 2021 11:30 AM

black women & travel

Shine Steel

Why Aren't More Of Us Exercising Our Right To A Second Passport?

Wednesday 23 February 2022 8:00 AM

Kristen Bingle

Black Women Share Their Tips On Solo Travel & Self Validation

Thursday 27 January 2022 10:00 AM

Nicole George

Why 2022 Is The Year Of Solo Fun

Sunday 23 January 2022 9:00 PM

Erica B. Donaldson-Ellison

Acts Of Resistance While Travelling As A Black Woman In Europe

Tuesday 28 September 2021 7:00 AM

Arese Sylvester

Inside The Lives Of Black Women Bodybuilders

Wednesday 30 March 2022 8:00 AM

Jendella Benson

Adele's Teacher Has Me Thinking, How Do We Really Measure Influence?

Monday 29 November 2021 7:00 AM

Mia Thornton

How British Gymnastics Has Failed Becky Downie

Monday 9 August 2021 12:00 PM

Climate change & the environment

Josephine Hall

Three Black Women On Their Decision To Live 'Off-Grid'

Wednesday 2 March 2022 8:00 AM

Jaydee Seaforth

Insulate Britain, Civil Disobedience & The Purpose Of Protest

Tuesday 19 October 2021 7:00 AM

Nomqhele Beauty Dhlamini

Banana Fibre Won't Save The Planet From Fast Fashion

Monday 5 July 2021 10:00 AM

Christine Ochefu

The Black Women Who Taught Me I Could Find A Home In Myself

Thursday 14 April 2022 6:00 AM

Black Ballad

Black Women On Their Friends Who Became Soulmates

Sunday 13 February 2022 8:00 AM

Black Ballad

How To Ask For Help: A Guide For Mums & Their Loved Ones

Wednesday 19 January 2022 10:00 AM

Henrietta Shirazu

Making New Friends Is Hard, But Here's How I've Done It

Thursday 9 December 2021 10:30 AM