Black Ballad

Black Ballad is a UK based lifestyle platform that seeks to tell the human experience through eyes of black British women.

We elevate the voices of black British women through content, community and commerce.

Join our community of black women for less than £1 a week

Featured content

Jendella Benson

So Many Teachable Moments, But Will This Government Ever Learn?

Sunday 16 January 2022 10:00 PM

Iman Mohamed

What Abolition Could Look Like In Our Schools

Friday 14 January 2022 8:00 AM

Careers, Work & Black Women

Jamila Ayesha

Why Your Black Teacher Friends Are Not Doing OK

Thursday 13 January 2022 12:00 PM

Yetunde Hofmann

New Year, New Bank Balance: How To Negotiate A Pay Rise

Tuesday 11 January 2022 8:00 AM

Ata-owaji Victor

The Burden – And Limits – Of Representation In The Creative Industry

Wednesday 5 January 2022 2:00 PM

Kiah Olowu

Phoebe Robinson on Being Childfree & Navigating Social Media

Wednesday 17 November 2021 9:00 AM

Zuva

Diagnosing & Treating My Mysterious Skin Condition

Wednesday 1 December 2021 1:00 PM

Esther Okusaga

Are Your Beauty Influencer Faves No Longer Relatable?

Thursday 25 November 2021 7:00 AM

Melody Triumph

How Black British Femme Influencers Created Space For Survival

Thursday 18 November 2021 1:00 PM

Pearl Natasha

Sandra Atoge & The Only Black Hair Salon In Derry, Northern Ireland

Thursday 4 November 2021 7:00 AM

Black Women & Relationships

Jamila Pereira

Deconstructing The Unhealthy 'Ride Or Die' Narrative

Friday 7 January 2022 8:00 AM

Ibukun Olumoroti

Aml Ameen On Bringing Black British Love To The Big Screen

Wednesday 8 December 2021 12:00 PM

Jaydee Seaforth

What It's Like Dating As A Black Woman with ADHD

Tuesday 9 November 2021 7:00 AM

Elisabeth Fapuro

#C4Highlife Is Giving Us Healthy Black Relationships Outside Of BHM

Tuesday 14 September 2021 4:00 PM

Founder's Letters

Black women & literature

Jendella Benson

bell hooks Gave Me The Language I Needed As A Young Black Woman

Thursday 16 December 2021 11:00 AM

Sareeta Domingo

Natasha Bowen On Her Epic Debut 'Skin Of The Sea' & Mermaid Mythology

Friday 26 November 2021 7:00 AM

Black Women & Motherhood

Sandra Brown-Springer

Black Parents Are Sparing The Rod And Turning To "Gentle Parenting"

Monday 13 December 2021 11:00 AM

Black Ballad

Mums Get Honest About The Support They Need In Motherhood

Friday 3 December 2021 1:30 PM

black women & mental health

Nina Dafe

Are These Toxic Cultural Beliefs Holding You Back?

Wednesday 12 January 2022 8:00 AM

Arese Sylvester

Black Women On Their End Of Year Rituals

Thursday 2 December 2021 2:00 PM

Njideka Kingsley

Embracing Cannabis As Part Of My Self-Care Routine As A Nigerian

Wednesday 10 November 2021 7:00 AM

Education

Jaydee Seaforth

The Trap Of Being Labelled “Gifted And Talented” As A Child

Tuesday 23 November 2021 7:00 AM

Edikan Umoh

How These Black Women Returned To School & Started Again

Monday 4 October 2021 7:00 AM