Black Ballad

Black Ballad is a UK based lifestyle platform that seeks to tell the human experience through eyes of black British women.

We elevate the voices of black British women through content, community and commerce.

Join our community of black women for less than £1 a week

Featured content

Sareeta Domingo

Natasha Bowen On Her Epic Debut 'Skin Of The Sea' & Mermaid Mythology

Friday 26 November 2021 7:00 AM

Esther Okusaga

Are Your Beauty Influencer Faves No Longer Relatable?

Thursday 25 November 2021 7:00 AM

Isha Webber

Natasha Rothwell On What’s Next After ‘Insecure’

Wednesday 24 November 2021 7:00 AM

Melody Triumph

How Black British Femme Influencers Created Space For Survival

Thursday 18 November 2021 1:00 PM

Pearl Natasha

Sandra Atoge & The Only Black Hair Salon In Derry, Northern Ireland

Thursday 4 November 2021 7:00 AM

Tomiwa Folorunso

How Black-Owned Beauty Businesses In Scotland Connect With Heritage

Wednesday 3 November 2021 7:00 AM

Chloe Seivwright

The Search For Black Haircare In South Wales

Tuesday 2 November 2021 7:00 AM

Founder's Letters

Jaydee Seaforth

The Trap Of Being Labelled “Gifted And Talented” As A Child

Tuesday 23 November 2021 7:00 AM

Solape Alatise

Nigerian Culture Is Popular Now. My Younger Self Needed This.

Monday 22 November 2021 1:00 PM

Ore Abiona

The Impact Of TikTok On African Music

Tuesday 16 November 2021 11:00 AM

Black Women & Love

Jaydee Seaforth

What It's Like Dating As A Black Woman with ADHD

Tuesday 9 November 2021 7:00 AM

Harmony Knight

Clueless: What I Learned From Dating (A Lot) Of White Boys

Friday 24 September 2021 9:00 AM

Elisabeth Fapuro

#C4Highlife Is Giving Us Healthy Black Relationships Outside Of BHM

Tuesday 14 September 2021 4:00 PM

Tolani McQueen

What I Learned From Losing All My Close Relationships During Lockdown

Wednesday 8 September 2021 10:30 AM

Jasmine A. Samura

How Can Black People Find Tattoo Artists They Can Trust?

Monday 8 November 2021 12:00 PM

Sarah Akinterinwa

This Black Woman Cartoonist Is Showing The Mundane Joys In Black Life

Wednesday 27 October 2021 7:00 AM

Taylor Edmonds

Kima Otung On The Music Industry, Growing Up In Wales & More

Friday 1 October 2021 11:00 AM

The Black Family

Korkor Kanor

What I've Learned About Death After A Decade On Twitter

Monday 27 September 2021 12:00 PM

Jasmine Pierre

Dealing With The Casual Colourism Of My Childhood

Wednesday 25 August 2021 7:00 AM

Education

Edikan Umoh

How These Black Women Returned To School & Started Again

Monday 4 October 2021 7:00 AM

Lazenya Weekes-Richemond

Why I’m Glad I Didn’t Get Into Medical School

Monday 2 August 2021 7:00 AM

Gemma Sparkes

Leaving Northern Ireland Showed Me That Anything Is Possible

Wednesday 23 June 2021 7:00 AM

Black Girl Magic

Jendella Benson

Timi Sotire On Black Joy & Blackness Beyond Trauma

Thursday 2 September 2021 7:00 AM

Tamera Heron

The Power Of Live Music To Create Community & Boost Morale

Thursday 12 August 2021 7:00 AM

Chloe Lovell

Black Women In Swimming, Skiing and Ballet

Wednesday 21 July 2021 7:00 AM

Christine Ochefu

How Black Women Build Communities Around Hair In The North West

Monday 1 November 2021 10:30 AM

Ibianga Evans

Confronting My Childhood And Righting My Parents' Wrongs

Friday 26 February 2021 7:00 AM

Christine Ochefu

Editor's Letter: Southport’s Slumber Urged Me to Dream

Sunday 20 December 2020 9:30 PM