Black Women & Mental Health

Black Women and Our Mental Health

Featured content

Njideka Kingsley

Embracing Cannabis As Part Of My Self-Care Routine As A Nigerian

Wednesday 10 November 2021 7:00 AM

Chloe Lovell

The Body Remembers: Alternative Therapies And Black Women

Monday 25 October 2021 7:00 AM

Become a member for unlimited access to all Black Ballad articles.

"I was having anxiety attacks in the library, crying myself to sleep to Stromzy’s 'Blinded by Your Grace, Pt. 2', and then waking up gasping for air to do it all over again."

– Going To Counselling Not In Crisis Forced Me To Show Up For Myself

 

 

June-Ann Joseph

What It Means To Be A Black Woman Living With PCOS

Wednesday 12 May 2021 10:30 AM

Chloe Lovell

Racial Trauma, Radical Self-Care & Our Healing As Resistance

Monday 29 March 2021 2:00 PM

Mia Thornton

Meet The Four Black Women Who Found Joy In Running

Monday 22 March 2021 7:00 AM

Chloe Lovell

Black Women And The Silence Around Binge Eating Disorder

Wednesday 3 March 2021 7:00 AM

Jendella Benson

We Need An Honest Conversation About Black Families & Boundaries

Tuesday 2 March 2021 7:00 AM

Mel Green

How Mums-To-Be Can Protect Their Mental Health During Covid

Saturday 20 February 2021 7:00 AM

Ezimma Chigbo

Suicide, The Pursuit Of Selfishness And My Commitment To Community

Thursday 11 February 2021 7:00 AM

"How do we accommodate for the unique ways poor mental health is displayed in the black community? Does our empathy extend to all members of the black community experiencing poor mental health, regardless of how their ill health manifests?"

– Where Is The Empathy For Black People Who Act "Crazy" In Public And Online?

 

Namina Forna

On Writing Trauma, Healing And Fantasy Inspired By My Reality

Thursday 4 February 2021 7:00 AM

Bakita Kasadha

Life After Diagnosis: Black Women & Bipolar Disorder

Friday 22 January 2021 7:00 AM

Niki Igbaroola

On Diet Culture And My Mother's Flawed Example

Monday 18 January 2021 7:00 AM

Jaydee Seaforth

We Need To Talk About Our Need To Talk

Thursday 14 January 2021 8:30 AM

Stephanie Ozuo

What An ADHD Diagnosis Means For My Concept Of Black Womanhood

Monday 11 January 2021 7:00 AM

Vicky Gayle

The Adult Carers Overlooked By The Government & Local Councils

Wednesday 6 January 2021 12:00 PM

Vanessa Lyall

2020 Was The Homecoming I Never Expected

Wednesday 30 December 2020 7:00 AM

Tyla Grant

My Journey To Becoming An Autism Advocate

Thursday 17 December 2020 7:00 AM

Courtney Stoddart

Race, Trauma, Belonging And Transracial Adoption

Monday 30 November 2020 7:00 AM

Vicky Gayle

The Cultural Roots Of Community Farming In Birmingham

Saturday 28 November 2020 7:00 AM

Elisha Mack

Mixed Race & Choosing Sides In The UK's Second City

Thursday 26 November 2020 7:00 AM